Red Flower- the Love Poem that Won My Heart

photo credit: Send me adrift. via photopin cc

photo credit: Send me adrift. via photopin cc

Red Flower

I find myself
A souldier
Called
To guard the flower garden of the Farmer

I gaze about the diverse view
Of color
Of splendor
Of beauty

I have not been called
To pick
To pluck
To take.
I have been called to be
A guardian
A protector

These flowers
They are the Farmer’s
Only He can pick them
Take them where He will

But I am not the only one
Called to protect
Many other soldiers are about me

But they have no armour
They have dropped their swords
Their shields lie rusting upon the soil.

They adorn themselves in petals
Constantly plucking
Rearranging
Replacing
I cry out in angst
But they only laugh

“What do you know?”
“Rookie”
“Novice”
“Beginner”

“It is only a matter of
Time
Temptation
Pressure
Before you fall as well.”

No
It cannot be
It couldn’t
It shouldn’t
IT WILL NOT!

I am called to protect
To nourish
To love

But there are so many flowers
Too few guardians

Looking at the small patch of flowers around me,
I vow
These I shall protect
For the Farmer
To whom I am in so much debt

But lo!
One red flower catches my eye
Beauty…
Wonder…
What is this?…
I can not help but want special care
For this one

Raising my sword
Readying my shield
Preparing to give my life
For the Farmer
And His garden
The flowers all around me
The red flower
She gives me strength
To be a souldier for the Farmer.

Copyright: Andrew Suchyna 2008

7 responses to “Red Flower- the Love Poem that Won My Heart

  1. Pingback: Waiting for Dating Part 2: One of God’s Most Precious Diamonds | My Catholic Single Life·

  2. Pingback: Poems: Your Love Gives Me Strength | My Catholic Single Life·

  3. Pingback: Waiting for Dating- A Different Kind of Relationship | My Catholic Single Life·

  4. Pingback: Waiting for Dating Part 3- Feelings Are Like a Gas Station | My Catholic Single Life·

  5. Pingback: Waiting for Dating Part 4- Discerning Other Vocations | My Catholic Single Life·

  6. Pingback: Remember Who I Am: Not the Air You Breathe | My Catholic Single Life·

  7. Pingback: Part 5: The End of Waiting for Dating- The Value of 3 Years Together | My Catholic Single Life·

Leave a Reply

